My Breakfast at Tiffany’s

“It is simply the most famous store there is.  Every cab driver, every New Yorker, every visitor knows where to find Tiffany & Co. This is the marvelous place where dreams come true.”- Tiffany & Co.

The iconic breakfast at Tiffany’s has been recreated for tourists worldwide to enjoy at the Tiffany & Co. flagship store located on 5th Avenue in NYC. I recently got the opportunity to try out Audrey Hepburn’s favorite breakfast spot and have a lot to say about my experience.
Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

First off,  we have the reservation. Inside there are only around 13 tables, so that explained to us why it was so hard to get a reservation.  Tip:  You have to go online to Tiffany & Co. exactly 30 days prior to the date you want to go and at exactly 9:00 a.m. you have to request a table. You also have to have a Resy Restaurant app.  After my Mom made ours she went back in at 9:03 and all the spots were already gone. This blew my mind because I was thinking how can a restaurant sell out so fast…

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

On November 2nd when we arrived to 5th Avenue and went to the fourth floor of the Tiffany flagship store, I soon realized why the reservations sold out so fast. It was so pretty & elegant that you genuinely felt like Audrey Hepburn. From the vibrant Tiffany blue walls to the blue & white plates everything matched inside. Even the outfits of the waiters matched! I was in awe when I stepped inside. First a host took us to our table, there was a long cushioned seat along the wall and a normal chair across from it. There were also a few larger tables that could sit around 5 people.  The menu didn’t have a lot of options.  You could choose to order Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner.  They did have one of my favorite foods… Belgium waffles so I obviously got those and my mom decided to get the avocado toast.  Along with your meal you would get a teapot with tea of your choice.  I was so indecisive on what to get, but then I saw they had a Tiffany tea you could only get at the Blue Box Café so that was the obvious choice.  The waiter first brought us each a bowl of fruit and croissants with different spreads, and our tea. The tea was honestly so good, I wasn’t sure how much I was gonna like it but I ended up loving it. The flavor was so fresh & sweet. Then the croissants were so light and fluffy, and I was in love with the cherry spread on it.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

By the time the main course came out we were starving. We hadn’t eaten anything all day because if you know New York you know its hard to find places that aren’t sitting down for full meals… besides Starbucks.  Also, we had been so busy the whole morning we never got a chance to find a food location, so when I saw the waffle on my plate I was drooling.  My waffle was very good but the best part was the dried cherries on top,  they really added the flavor. My mom liked her toast as well. We are avocado toast fans.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The best part of the meal though was the environment. The place had two special aspects to it. One was the views, where I was sitting the view was the entrance to Central Park. All the trees where a bright red, yellow, and green, and there was a gold statue, a big fountain, and tons of people walking from Central Park to 5th Avenue. The other aspect was the people. Every table around us were speaking in a different language, so it was so interesting hearing all these different languages and wondering where they were all from.  Guess everyone there knew the 9:00 o’clock reservation trick.  Also,  it’s funny because even though everyone in the little restaurant were so different, we all had similarities aka we all took photos of EVERYTHING!  Everywhere I looked people were taking photos & videos, there was even a women dressed up as Audrey Hepburn beside me( the funny thing was she wasn’t the first “ Audrey Hepburn” I had seen that day)

Overall, the experience of the Blue Box Café as a whole was a 10/10!  Would I say the food was the best thing ever, no, but the environment just made you feel literally like a princess at a tea party.  I guess it’s kinda a girly thing to do so make sure it’s a special event and go with the right group.  If you ever get the chance to go please do,  because I promise you won’t regret it!

xoxo- Ashlyn Kate

 

2 thoughts on “My Breakfast at Tiffany’s

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started